The long-term consequences of self-injury

More distraction ideas from someone in recovery.

Diary of a social phobic

Trigger warning: I talk about self-injury and scars

Though I’ve gone over 2 years without cutting myself, I’m still facing the consequences of self-injury, and will likely continue to do so for the rest of my life. My scars have faded a lot over the last couple of years, and I’m very lucky that the ones on my thighs are now almost invisible, but the ones on my arm are still very noticeable. At the beginning of summer 2012, I dreaded going on holiday because I knew it would be far too hot to wear long sleeves, and I was worried that people would stare at and make comments about my then bright red scars. I was worried that people would think I was showing them off for attention or that they would think a lot less of me as a person because of them. I realise that as someone…

View original post 1,026 more words

This entry was posted in About. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The long-term consequences of self-injury

  1. Anonymous says:

    Thank you xxx

    Like

Leave a Reply

